What's New 2020
Virginia’'s Sentencing Guidelines

~ VIRGINIA SENTENCING GUIDELINES
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Changes to Virginia’s Sentencing Guidelines

Effective July 1, 2020

Legislative Changes to Larceny Offenses ($500 to $1,000)

Legislative Changes to Possession of Marijuana and
Distribution Quantities

Burglary/Dwelling & Burglary/Other Recommendation Table
& Other Factors Modified

New Factors Added to the Kidnapping Worksheet

Manufacture Methamphetamine/Schedule I or Il Drugs
& Point Changes on Section C

Drug Exception Rule Eliminated

No Probation Violation Guidelines are Prepared for Removal From
CCAP or Violation of the Conditions of CCAP (The SRR is required)

Revised Sentencing Guidelines Cover Sheets

*
Detailed information on each offense follows this summary slide.



]
— =
% #a
==

=
=)

Legislative Changes to Larceny Offenses
($500 to $1,000)

~ VIRGINIA SENTENCING GUIDELINES
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Legislative Change:

Change to Threshold for Grand Larceny

Effective for crimes committed July 1, 2020 and after, the
threshold for Grand Larceny increases from $500 to $1,000.

The immediate impact on sentencing guidelines factors is that
prior record factors are based on Virginia’s current penalty
structure.

When preparers are unsure if the prior felony offense involved
$1,000 or more in property loss or damage, the prior
conviction must be scored as a misdemeanor.

The amount of restitution ordered or another measure
authorized by the court may be used to determine if a prior
felony was for property loss or damage of $1,000 or more.



| Legislative Changes to Possession of Marijuana
and Distribution Quantities
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Legislative Changes:
Civil Penalty for Possession of Marijuana

Felony Distribution of Marijuana is More than 1 Ounce
(currently the quantity is over %2 ounce)

As of July 1, 2020, violation of 818.2-250.1, unlawful possession of marijuana,
Is a civil offense. Civil offenses are not scored as instant offenses or prior
record on the Sentencing Guidelines. Any prior conviction for first or
subsequent possession of marijuana is not scored.

The immediate impact on sentencing guidelines factors is
that prior record factors are based on Virginia’s current
penalty structure.

When preparers are unsure if the quantity of marijuana sold
was more than one ounce, the prior conviction must be
scored as a misdemeanor. Any prior conviction for simple
possession of marijuana, without the intent to distribute, is
not scored on the sentencing guidelines. If the prior
conviction is for simple possession of marijuana, the quantity
in possession is not used to score the conviction as a
distribution.

Official reports, forensic lab reports or other sources
accepted by the judge, may be used to verify the quantity of
marijuana sold for scoring prior record factors.



| Burglary/Dwelling & Burglary/Other
3 Recommendation Table & Other Factors Modified
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Burglary/Dwelling & Burglary/Other

Recommendation Tables

The Section B Tables for both burglary worksheets have been simplified to two categories instead of
three. A score of 0-6 continues to recommend probation/no incarceration. However, the jail incarceration
recommendation for a score of seven points or more is 1 day to 6 months.

Burglary/Dwelling —:#—SectionB

L
< %

Recommendation Table

Score Guideline Sentence Guideline Sentence
0-6 e Probation/No Incarceration B Probation/No Incarceration
AR - S Incarceration 1 Dayupto3Months ||  BR | W T4 Incarceration 1 Day up to 6 Months

............................ Incarceration 3 to 6 Months




Burglary/Dwelling

There is an increase in points for the
Section B Primary Offense factor for most
Burglary/Dwelling offenders (previously,
these offenders received only one point for
all counts).

Burglary/Dwelling - SectionB

Offender Name:

< Primary Offense

A Dwelling with intent to commit larceny, etc. without deadly weapon (all counts)
1 count.
2 counts or more.
B. Dwelling at night with intent to commit larceny, efc. without deadly weapon (all counts)

2 counts or more

NEW FACTORS

7
N

Additional Offenses: Two points are
scored when an offender has additional
offenses for which the sum of the statutory
maximum penalties is five years or more.

&7
s
-

Firearm Removed from Property: One
point is scored when a firearm is removed
from the property during the burglary.

Furthermore, points scored for the Legal
Restraint factor on Section B have increased
from three to four points.

O
ﬁ/ 7 e
@ +°€ Additional Offenses Total the maximum penalties for additional offenses, including counts

&7

. Other than listed above (3l COUNTS). ... oo en e e oo

®

Less than 5
5 or more

Years:

N

Firearm Removed from Property During Burglary

O If YES, add 1 +III:|
»./Py

0 Prior Convictions/Adjudications Total the maximum penalties for the 5 most recent and serious prior record events v
1-32
B I 1SS

Years:

© Prior Misdemeanor Convictions/Adjudications (Excludes Traffic)

Number:
of Counts

& Prior Juvenile Record

L Legally Restrained at Time of Offense

Total Score

See Burglary/Dwelling Section B Recommendation Table to convert score to guidelines sentence.

Burg Dweling/Section B




Burglary/Other Structure

Offenders whose primary offense is
burglary of a structure other than a
dwelling with intent to commit larceny, etc.,
without a deadly weapon will now receive
three points on the Section B Primary

Burglary/Other —:—Section B

Offender Name:

9 Primary Offense

A. Other structure with intent to commit larceny, ete. (All COUNTS) ........ocvoviieerimicecse s s
B. Possession of burglarious tools (all counts)
C.  Other than listed above (Al COUNMTS). ... e s b b bbb

Offense factor (previously, these offenders Q;.s% Additional Offenses Total the maximum penaties for addtional ofienses, including counts -
received only one poinb). <\f‘ e s e [0 |

© Prior Convictions/Adjudications Total the maximum penalties for the 5 most recent and serious prior record events v
NEW FACTORS O etmere

Additional Offenses: One point is scored
when the offender has additional offenses
for which the sum of the statutory
maximum penalties is five years or more.

Furthermore, points scored for the Legal
Restraint factor on Section B have increased
from three to four.

9 Prior Misdemeanor Convictions/Adjudications (Excludes Traffic)

Number of
Counts:

€ Prior Juvenile Record

16 Legally Restrained at Time of Offense

Total Score

See Burglary/Other S Section B R ion Table

fo convert score fo guidelines sentence.
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New Factors Added to the Kidnapping Worksheet

4

~ VIRGINIA SENTENCING GUIDELINES
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Kidnapping

Kidnapping ——Section A ender Name:
The three new factors are scored only PPINg et
. < Primary Offense (seares for stempiediconspived ofenses are in parentheses) —
when the primary offense at N
_ i J . elony kidnapping by parent (1 COUNE) ..o |
sentencing is abduction by force R

4
Aftempted or conspired: 1 count {3)

WithOUt Iegal jUStiﬁCatiOn C. Assisting er threatening to abduct
- - Completed: 1 COUNT .o e et e B
(§ 182—47(A)) Or aSSlStlng Or Aftempted orcongp\rea: 1 COURT oo e e 3)

D.  Abduction with intent to defile

1 ks ComPIBE. 1 COUNT oot s sn e e e e s e D
th reaten I ng to abd UCt (§ 18 . 2 49) . Attempted or conspired: 1 count (4)
E. Extortion, abduction with intent to gain pecuniary benefit
Completed: 1 count 5
Attempted or CONSPINEE 1 COUNT ... oo ot et eese e e eene U ) Score

N EW FACTO RS F.  Abduct child under age 16

Completed: 1 COUNt .oocooerrocerceeee OSSOSO |
Aftempted OF CONSPINEA: 1 COUME...oovrveeceeceeceeeeeeemseeceeaceeeeeseeeece e smen e snse e e nesesnss s enceseerenne- A B)

© Primary Offense Remaining Counts Total the maximum penalties for counts of the primary not scored above

Type Of Additional Offense: One pOInt IS Years: LSS AN 21 e ceenne s

BB 0T MO R oo et cms s e e e e e e e

offense Wlth a V"‘glnla Crlme Code (VCC) € Additional Offenses Total the maximum penalties for additional offenses, including counts
! . A B " n i P4 YEArs:  LESSEMAN 21 oo
prefix of “PRT”, “SEX”, “RAP”, or “FAM. */‘éb T B —

@ BB DT ITHOT ..ottt e e e e e e e st et et e ee e ane e
@ .:"}0 Type of Additional Offense

Any Additional offense has a prefix of "PRT", "SEX", "RAP", or "FAM"

Primary offense:

SNy

- - _ r B or C: Abduction by force without legal justification or — Primary offense: All other offenses
Conviction in the Current Event Asssting o hrateing o b Do Not Score

Requiring a Mandatory Minimum Term:
One point is added if the offender has a
conviction in the current sentencing event
requiring a mandatory minimum term of
incarceration of six months or more.

onviction in Current Event Requiring Mandatory Minimum Term (6 mosormorey —

Primary offense:
#7 — Bor C: Abduction by force without legal justification or — Primary offense: All other offenses
Assisting or threatening to abduct ‘

If YES, add 1 Do Not Score

@ Victim Injury

Primary offense:
B or C: Abduction by force without legal justification or — Primary offense: All other offenses
Assisting or threatening to abduct

-

Threatened (points included with pnmary offense)....... 0 Do Not Score
(‘Q@} T —
‘.)./ € Weapon Used or Brandished If YES, add 1 |
VlCtl m I nj u ry NO p0|ntS are SCOI’ed for @ Prior Felony Conviction/Sentencing and Adjudication Events
threatened injury; however, one point is 2o

[ SR K

.
g
1
z <«
i
1
g
¢
:

scored for emotional injury and two points ot
are scored if a victim suffers physical, Total Score >

If total is 4 or less, the guidelines sentence is Probation/No Incarceration or Incarceration to 6 months.

serious physical, or life-threatening injury. e s =




Kidnapping

The three new factors on Section C are
similar to those on the Section A
worksheet and are scored only when
the primary offense at sentencing is
abduction by force without legal
justification (8 18.2-47(A)) or
assisting or threatening to abduct

(8 18.2-49).

NEW FACTORS

Type of Additional Offense: Six points

are scored if an offender has an additional
offense with a VCC prefix of “PRT”, “SEX”,

“RAP”, or “FAM.”

Conviction in the Current Event

Requiring a Mandatory Minimum Term:

Six points are scored if an offender has a
conviction in the current event requiring a
mandatory minimum term of incarceration
of six months or more.

Victim Injury: Two points are scored for
emotional injury and six points are scored
for physical, serious physical or
lire-threatening injury.

Kidnapping —#=SectionC

Offender Name:

— Prior Record Classification

<o Primary Offense

[Jcategory| []Categoryll [] Other
A Felony kidnapping by parent (1county.__________ . 24 12 6
B. Abduction by force without legal justification
1 count...
2 counts.
3 counts.

C. Assisting or threatening to abduct (1 count).....................

D. Extortion, abduction with intent to gain pecuniary benefit
1 count...
2 counts.
3 counts.

E.  Abduction with intent to defile
1 count
2 counts.
3 counts.

F.  Abduct child under age 16
1 count...

2 counts.
3 counts.

Maximum Penalty: 5,10
(years)  Life

€@ Primary Offense Remaining Counts Assign points to each count of the primary not scored above and total the points ]

-

€ Additional Offenses Assign points to gach additional offense (including counts) and total the points

Maximum Penalty:  Less than 4..

&%
@

Qé}n{pe of Additional Offense

40 or more.

Any Additional offense has a prefix of "PRT", "SEX", "RAP”, or "FAM"
Primary offense:
B or C: Abduction by force without legal justification or

Assisting or threatening to abduct
If YES, add &

@)onviction in Current Event Requiring Mandatory Minimum Term (6 mos orm
4} Primary offense:
4 B or C: Abduction by force without legal justification or — Primary offense: All other offenses ———
( [o]o] |

— Primary offense: All other offenses

Do Not Score

Assisting or threatening to abduct

IfYES, add 6

@ Weapon Used or Brandished

Assisting or threatening to abduct
Threatened (points included with primary offense).........0
Emaotional.. 2

Primary offense:

B or C: Abduction by force without legal justification or Primary offense: All other offenses —M
I Do Not Score

Physical, Serious Physical, Life Threatening 6

© Prior Convictions/Adjudications Assign points to the 5 most recent and serious prior record events and total the points

Maximum Penalty: Less than 2. SO UUUUURURURUBTSRRRSPRRSROOON | |
(ears) 2, 3 A 1

D oo oo Lo Lf e e e L L LE £ oAttt 2

10 4

20 T

30 "

A OT IO .o 15

Total Score >
See Kidnapping Section C Recommendation Table for guidelines sentence range




5 Manufacture

Methamphetamine/Schedule I or Il Drugs
& Point Changes on Section C
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Drug Schedule I/11

Manufacturing any Schedule 1/11 drug under 8§ 18.2-248(C) and manufacturing methamphetamine under

§ 18.2-248(C1) are now assigned the same points on Section C of the Drug/Schedule 1/11 worksheet. A
uniform scoring scheme has been established for scoring convictions involving the same behavior even if
prosecuted under different sections of the Code. All manufacturing Schedule I/11 drugs or methamphetamine
will pick up 26 points for one count with no violent prior record, 78 points for a Category Il prior record and
130 points for a Category | prior record.

Drug/Schedule I/ll=—section C Offender Name:

P rima DHE‘HSE —— Prior Record Classification
o ry — (] categoryl [ categoryll [ Other -
A. Possess Schedule | or Il drug or First offender violation (scores for atfempted/conspined l:' nses are in parentheses)
Attempted, conspired or completed: 1 COUMD . ..ooeeoe et e e s st em e e s L O | | a]
ZROUNES oo e 2B . 14 ...................... T
A COUNES i T 18 2]
B. Sell, Distribute, Possession with intent, etc., Schedule | or Il drug
Completed (Attermpted or Conspired): L ) | SO
counts ...
3 counts ...
A OIS
. Sell, etc., Schedule | or |l drug, second offense
Completed (Attempted or Conspired): 1 OO o e 110 EB} .............. 53] 44% .............. 22 22}
2 OIS . e I248) . 186(124). ... 62 (62
D. Sell, etc., Schedule | or Il drug - thind or subsequent offense
Aliempte-d conspired or completed: A DU e 175 . 105 35
2 ool |n’rt'. 3040 234 i
E. ManufactureSchedule 111 drug & 18.2- 248133} or Methamphetamine, 1st or 2nd offense, § 18. 2—248[{31]
Atternpted, conspired or completed: T COUNE e VD TR 26
. . 1
Atternpted, conspired or completed: T COUME ..o e e e B e 30 15
3. Accomodation—Sell, etc., Schedule | or || drug Score
Attempted, conspired or completed: 1 OO 32 16 a
COUNES ap o 200 i0 v

H. Sell, etc., imitation Schedule | or Il drug; Possession of methamphetamine precursars
Attempted conspired or completed: 8 PO 12 . B 3




Eliminated Drug Exception Rule

6
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Drug Exception Rule Eliminated

As of July 1, 2020, convictions for manufacturing, distributing, selling and
possessing with the intent to sell a Schedule I/11 drug under 8 18.2-248 (C) with
different Virginia Crime Codes (VCC) will no longer be scored as multiple counts
of the primary offense. Any combination of multiple counts of these offenses
with different VCCs will be scored as primary and additional offenses.

Convictions with the exact same Virginia Crime Code
(VCC) as the primary offense are considered counts of the
primary offense, not additional offenses.

For example:

One count of distribution, provide, give, etc. of a Schedule
I/11 drug, NAR-3042-F9, and one count of possession
with intent to sell, distribute, etc., NAR-3043-F9, is
scored as one primary offense and one additional offense.

The definition of an additional offense applies across all
worksheets. Additional offenses are offenses in the
same sentencing event that have a Virginia Crime Code

(VCC) that differs from the primary offense. Attempted
and conspired acts have different VCCs than completed

acts and are separate and distinct offenses.




Removal From CCAP or

Violation of the Conditions of CCAP
(The SRR is required)

7 No Probation Violation Guidelines are Prepared for
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Probation Violation Guidelines & Sentencing Revocation Report

CCAP —

o’

Sentencing Revocation Report

Scheduled Sentencing Date:
NOTE: Required for SWIFT!

Community Corrections Alternative Program + OFFENDER
(1] First: Middle:
. . - . Last: Suffix
Th_e cqmpletlon of the pro_batlpn violation © Dueotman | |/ PT—— - -
guidelines for any CCAP violation has been ® spccRe ©cors
suspended until new guidelines are © COURT
developed (6] Judicial Circuit: | @ City/County: eFIPS_CDUE [
(9] Judge's Name { Dockel Number: N —
@ ¢ MOST SERIOUS ORIGINAL FELONY OFFENSE INFORMATION
Users are regu”.ed tO Complete the Primary Offense VCC B . SenlencmngaT(OrlgmaI)
Sentencing Revocation Report (SRR) @  PsINUVBER - -
and check the box “Probation Violation & ¢ ORIGINAL DISPOSITION INFORMATION

Guidelines Do Not Apply™.

There will be no recommended sentence
range if the offender’s violation is based
solely, or in part, on the participant’s
removal from CCAP for behavioral, medical,
administrative or other actions identified by
the Department of Corrections.

& # TYPE OF REVOCATION (check all that appiy)

® ¢ CONDITIONS CITED IN VIOLATION (check all that apply)

[ No Incarceration

O Detention or Diversion Center Incarceration, CCAP (no active incarceration) O Jail or Prison

[ probation [ Post Release  [J Good Behavior [ Suspended Sentence ) Community-Based Program

. Fail to obey all Federal, State, and local laws and ordinances —' @ Complete if there are any new law
. Fail to report any arrests within 3 days to probation officer or ordinance convictions:
. Fail to maintain employment or to report changes in employment
. Fail to report as instructed
. Fail to allow probation officer to visit home or place of employment
. Fail to follow instructions and be truthful and cooperative
. Use alcohelic beverages
Use, possess, distribute controlled substances or paraphernalia
. Use, own, possess, transport or carry fircarm
3 10. Change residence or leave State of Virginia without permission

VCCs for most serious convictions
T Y B I
Y Y ol B

Lotalion of Arnesl
) Virginia O out of State or Federal

Jaaaaaaaa
@~ @M B wWwN =

=]

3 11. Abscond from supervision
[ Fail to follow special conditions (specify),

VIOLATION GUIDELINES RECOMMENDATION

& X Probation Violation Guidelines
Do Not Apply (check reason)

[ Probation/No Incarceration

O3 Incarceration (Enter Rangs Below) Condition 1 Violation

Range | | | | to | | | — Deferred Finding/Sentence - Do not complete this form

T Beroie ERalblo C: (Cormplete onginal
— Parole Eligible Case sontancing guidelines)
& O Rc@mmendatlgn | | | | | _ Revocation Other Than State Probation
Exceeds Revocable Time of \—‘—IW_ (S L [X ViolalonRemoval Tom CCAE.]

Sentencing Revecation Report |




8 Revised Sentencing Guidelines Cover Sheets
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New Cover Sheet & SWIFT!

The sentencing guidelines application, esses s oo
SWIFT!, has been redesigned to capture all Sentencing Guidelines cover sneet
the associated docket numbers in a ¢ OFFENDER
sentencing event. it Midde e e
Date of Birth: |:| :I |:| SSN:

As a result, the cover sheet for every GORIS Ofender I: psi
offense has been redesigned. The primary # COURT
offense and the number of counts is listed :jjif:;”j‘m: - e, o L] L1
on the first page and a complete list of all Preparer Name: CHRIS GEEN (© commanmeths Atomey O Probation Oficer
the offenses, offense dates and docket T e oy
numbers are listed on a new Offense ¢ ':m orrENes Counts Offense Date
Details page attached to the back of the s LAy
sentencing guidelines worksheets. T bocket Numper CROB00229700

—> [For a comprehensive st o al oflenses in the sentencing event, please refer to the Offense Detalls page following Section D.]
This step was necessary before the @ METHOD OF ADJUDICATION
Commission could move on to the next Doy ot somencosermyae [ 1L | Otte Ouuwente OFne ony
phase of electronic transfer and filing of the K B E
worksheets.

Offense Details

uUntil notified by your Clerk, the
submission of sentencing guidelines is

Offender Name: DOE, JOHN

Offense Counts VCC Offense Date Docket No.
still a paper-based system. Primary
GRAND LARCENY 3 LAR-2359-F9 1/19/06 CR0600229700
01/24/06 CRO0&00229800
02/04/06 CRO600230100
Additional
1. STATUTORY BURGLARY 2 BUR-2216-F9 01/29/06 CRO0800229900
02/04/06 CRO&00230000
2. POSS MARIJ & COCAINE RESIDUE 1 NAR-3022-F5 12/12/05 CRO&00288300
HENRICO COUNTY




New Laws
What's New 2020

Selected Laws Effective July 1, 2020 or Before
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Parole Eligible Offenders

The new provision provides that an incarcerated person is eligible for parole if the
offender was sentenced by a jury prior to the date of the Supreme Court of Virginia
decision in Fishback v. Commonwealth, 260 Va. 104 (June 9, 2000)

8§ 53.1-165.1. Limitation on the application of parole statutes.

A. The provisions of this article, except 88 53.1-160 and 53.1-160.1, shall not apply to any sentence imposed
or to any prisoner incarcerated upon a conviction for a felony offense committed on or after January 1,
1995. Any person sentenced to a term of incarceration for a felony offense committed on or after January 1,
1995, shall not be eligible for parole upon that offense.

B. The provisions of this article shall apply to any person who was sentenced by a jury prior to June 9, 2000,
for any felony offense committed on or after January 1, 1995, and who remained incarcerated for such
offense on July 1, 2020, other than (i) a Class 1 felony or (ii) any of the following felony offenses where the
victim was a minor: (a) rape in violation of § 18.2-61; (b) forcible sodomy in violation of § 18.2-67.1; (c)
object sexual penetration in violation of § 18.2-67.2; (d) aggravated sexual battery in violation of § 18.2-

67.3; (e) an attempt to commit a violation of clause (a), (b), (c), or (d); or (f) carnal knowledge in violation
of § 18.2-63, 18.2-64.1, or 18.2-64.2.

C. The Parole Board shall establish procedures for consideration of parole of persons entitled under
subsection B consistent with the provisions of § 53.1-154.

D. Any person who meets eligibility criteria for parole under subsection B and pursuant to 8 53.1-151 as of
July 1, 2020, shall be scheduled for a parole interview no later than July 1, 2021, allowing for extension of
time for reasonable cause.

2. That an emergency exists and this act is in force from its passage.
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Parole Eligible Offenders

Provides that any person sentenced to a term of life imprisonment for a single
felony offense or multiple felony offenses committed while that person was a_
juvenile and who has served at least 20 years of such sentence and any person who
has active sentences that total more than 20 years for a single felony offense or
multiple felony offenses committed while that person was a juvenile and who has
served at least 20 years of such sentences shall be eligible for parole.

8§ 53.1-165.1. Limitation on the application of parole statutes.

A. The provisions of this article, except 88 53.1-160 and 53.1-160.1, shall not apply to any sentence
imposed or to any prisoner incarcerated upon a conviction for a felony offense committed on or after
January 1, 1995. Any person sentenced to a term of incarceration for a felony offense committed on or
after January 1, 1995, shall not be eligible for parole upon that offense.

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection A or any other provision of this article to the

contrary, any person sentenced to a term of life imprisonment for a single felony or multiple felonies
committed while the person was a juvenile and who has served at least 20 years of such sentence shall
be eligible for parole and any person who has active sentences that total more than 20 years for a

single felony or multiple felonies committed while the person was a juvenile and who has served at least 20
years of such sentences shall be eligible for parole. The Board shall review and decide the case of each
prisoner who is eligible for parole in accordance with § 53.1-154 and rules adopted pursuant to

subdivision 2 of § 53.1-136.
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Hate Crimes

Amendments to § 18.2-57, adds gender, disability, gender identity, and sexual
orientation to the categories of victims whose intentional selection for a hate crime
involving assault, assault and battery, or trespass for the purpose of damaging
another's property results in a higher criminal penalty for the offense. The new law

also eliminates the mandatory minimum terms of confinement for such hate
crimes.

8§ 18.2-57. Assault and battery; penalty.
A. Any person who commits a simple assault or assault and battery is guilty of a Class 1

misdemeanor, and if the person intentionally selects the person against whom a simple
assault is committed because of his race, religious conviction, gender, disability, gender
/dentity, sexual orientation, color, or national origin, the penalty upon conviction shall include
a term of confinement of at least six months, 30-days-ef-which-shall-be-a-mandatory
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B. However, if a person intentionally selects the person against whom an assault and battery
resulting in bodily injury is committed because of his race, religious conviction, gender,
disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, color, or national origin, the person is guilty of
a Class 6 felony, and the penalty upon conviction shall include a term of confinement of at
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STATUTE WEAPON GROUP
18.2-56.2(A) Reckless Handling
18.2-308.1:4(C) Protective Order
18.2-308.1:6  Substantial Risk Orders
18.2-308.2:2 Purchase
18.2-308.2:2(E) Criminal History Checks
18.2-308.2:2(E) Criminal History Checks
18.2-308.2:2(R) Purchase
18.2-308.2:5(C) Criminal History Checks
18.2-308.2:5(D) Criminal History Checks
18.2-308.5:1 Trigger Activator
19.2-152.16 Substantial Risk Orders
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New Firearm Laws

DESCRIPTION

Reckless/leave loaded firearm, endangering child age <14

Fail to certify all firearms have been surrendered

Possess, transport, etc., firearm under substantial risk order

Purchase more than one handgun w/in 30 day period; 3rd/subsequent
Obtain criminal history info. under false pretenses

Disseminate criminal history info. w/out proper authority

Purchase more than one handgun within 30 day period

Verification, sell firearm without

Verification, purchase firearm without

Possess, sell, etc., trigger activator

False statement to law enforcement officer/CA, substantial risk orders

* Please refer to the 2020 V/CC Book for a list of all criminal offenses

VvCC
WPN-5249-M1
WPN-5192-M1
WPN-5199-M1
WPN-5272-F6
WPN-5282-M2
WPN-5279-M2
WPN-5288-M1
WPN-5190-M1
WPN-5191-M1
WPN-5189-F6
WPN-5198-M1



Additional Information

~ VIRGINIA SENTENCING GUIDELINES

- VIRGINIA CRIMINAL SENTENCING COMMISSION




The Official Guidelines must be completed using SWIFT!

* The Sentencing Worksheet Interactive File
Transfer (SWIFT)) is a web-based
application designed for automating the
sentencing guidelines, and is the source for
Official Worksheets. The application will
allow users to complete the guidelines
forms online, give users the ability to save
guidelines information and recall it later. In
the future, SWIFT! will provide a way for
users to submit the guidelines to the court
electronically, and permit the Clerks to send
the guidelines forms to the Commission in
electronic format.
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» Obtain your free and private account by
sending an email to:
SWIFT@vcsc.virginia.gov.

Include your name, email address, bar number and the
name of your primary court.
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mailto:SWIFT@vcsc.virginia.gov

Visit the Commission’s mobile site by
texting VCSC to 56512.

. Learn about the 2020 changes

. Register for seminars

. Search for Virginia Crime Codes by statute or key word
. Quick reference to common rules

. Register for limited text alerts on changes

. View or download worksheets

. Access to the mobile guidelines manual and ranges

Go to http://bycell.co/cgac or mobile.vcsc.virginia.gov
on your mobile device
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Or dial 804-200-4941 on your mobile phone
to receive a text message and click on the link
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Message & Data Rates May Apply. You can unsubscribe at any time by texting STOP to 56512.
Text HELP to 56512 for help or contact VCSC at 804.225.4398.



http://bycell.co/cgac

Information

= Contact staff of the Commission by phone from 7:30AM to
5:00PM (Monday — Friday) 804.225.4398

= Contact staff of the Commission by text at 804.393-9588

m Text VCSC to 56512 for the mobile web site.

= Contact Staff by Email. Email addresses are posted on the
Commission’s website: www.vcsc.virginia.gqov.

= Manuals, VCC Books and updates will be shipped in late June.

= An order form for the 23" edition of Virginia’s Sentencing
Guidelines Manualis available on the Commission’s website.
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= Judges, Commonwealth’s Attorneys, Public Defenders and
Probation Officers will automatically be shipped updates based
on the number requested last year.
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2020 Seminars

The following seminars are still scheduled:

DECEMBER 2 - ROANOKE
Roanoke Higher Education Center

O 9:30-5:00 (#718)

DECEMBER 4 - FAIRFAX
Fairfax County Government Center

O 9:30-5:00 (#719)

DECEMBER 8 - HENRICO
Henrico Police and Fire Training Center
O  9:30-5:00 (#720)

DECEMBER 10 - NORFOLK
Norfolk Police Training Center
O 9:30-5:00 (#721)

Register online for all classes.
http:/ /www.vcsc.virginia.gov /training.html

You may also register

for a SWIFT! account online.
http://www.vcsc.virginia.gov/swift.html
or email SWIFT@vacourts.gov
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Due to the recent COVID-19 Pandemic, canceled seminars will be rescheduled
and new seminars will be added as soon as possible. Please watch your email
and text messages for the new schedule and free online webinars.
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IRGINIA
SENTENCING
GUIDELINES




Virginia Criminal
Sentencing Commaission

804-225-4398

WWW.VCSC.vVirginia.gov




	What’s New 2020
	Slide Number 2
	Slide Number 3
	Slide Number 4
	Slide Number 5
	Slide Number 6
	Slide Number 7
	Slide Number 8
	Slide Number 9
	Slide Number 10
	Slide Number 11
	Slide Number 12
	Slide Number 13
	Slide Number 14
	Slide Number 15
	Slide Number 16
	Drug Exception Rule Eliminated�
	Slide Number 18
	Slide Number 19
	Slide Number 20
	Slide Number 21
	New Laws
	The new provision provides that an incarcerated person is eligible for parole if the offender was sentenced by a jury prior to the date of the Supreme Court of Virginia decision in Fishback v. Commonwealth, 260 Va. 104 (June 9, 2000)
	Provides that any person sentenced to a term of life imprisonment for a single felony offense or multiple felony offenses committed while that person was a juvenile and who has served at least 20 years of such sentence and any person who has active sentences that total more than 20 years for a single felony offense or multiple felony offenses committed while that person was a juvenile and who has served at least 20 years of such sentences shall be eligible for parole. 
	Amendments to § 18.2-57, adds gender, disability, gender identity, and sexual orientation to the categories of victims whose intentional selection for a hate crime involving assault, assault and battery, or trespass for the purpose of damaging another's property results in a higher criminal penalty for the offense. The new law also eliminates the mandatory minimum terms of confinement for such hate crimes.
	Slide Number 26
	Additional Information
	Slide Number 28
	Slide Number 29
	Information
	2020 Seminars 
	Slide Number 32

