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Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission                             
2010 Changes to 

Virginia’s Sentencing Guidelines 
Effective July 1, 2010 

 
 New Guideline Offenses: 

1. Hit and Run Property Damage  
 § 46.2-894 

2. Distribution of Schedule III Drug 
 § 18.2-248(E1) 

3. Arson of Occupied Dwelling  
 § 18.2-77 

4. Participation in Offense for Benefit of 
Gang 

 § 18.2-46.2 
5. Participation in Offense for Benefit of 

Gang with Juvenile Member 
 § 18.2-46.2 
 
 

 Significant Factor Revisions On:  
 Traffic Felony Worksheet 
 Miscellaneous Worksheet 
 Drug Other Worksheet 
 
 

 Probation Violation Guidelines or 
Sentencing Revocation Reports  
  Required in Every Case 

 
 

 Virginia Crime Code Book  
 Includes New Laws for 2010 
 
 

 “What’s New 2010” Presentation  
  Available on the web at    
  www.vcsc.virginia.gov 

 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Sentencing Guidelines Manuals & Seminars 
 

Sentencing Guideline Manuals 
 
This year, all pages in your manual need to be 
replaced.  The cost of this complete update is 
$75.  If you need the complete manual including 
the binder and tabs, the cost is $150. 
 

Training Seminars 
 

Seminars for both new and veteran users of 
Virginia’s sentencing guidelines are being 
offered across the Commonwealth during the 
summer and fall.   
 
• Introduction to Sentencing Guidelines       

[Approved for 6 CLE] 
 
• Advanced Sentencing Guidelines Topics  

& Ethical Hypotheticals  
[Approved for 6 CLE  (1 Ethics)] 
 
Registration / Ordering Information 

 
To order a complete manual or update, or to 
register for a training seminar, please complete 
the shipping and registration information on the 
back of this brochure and mail to the 
Commission, along with check or money order 
made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  
Manual shipments can be expected via UPS 
during the latter part of June.  Upon receipt of 
payment, confirmation letters with directions 
will be sent out to training seminar registrants. 
 
Phone: 804.225.4398                  Fax: 804.786.3934 
 
Visit the Commission’s website, www.vcsc.virginia.gov, 
for additional seminars offered throughout the year. V
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2010 Shipping and Registration Information             
□ Mr.    □Ms.   □Mrs.   □ _________ 

Name: 
____________________________________________ 
 
Office: 
____________________________________________ 
Address: (Street Address for UPS Delivery): 
____________________________________________ 

____________________________________________ 

____________________________________________ 

City:  
____________________________________________ 

State:  ________________    Zip:   ________________ 

Phone:  ______________________________________     

Fax:  ________________________________________ 

E-Mail:  
______________________________________________ 

13th Edition Manual Selection   (Effective July 1, 2010) 

 
 Update from Any Prior Edition ........................ $75.00  

 
 

 Complete Manual with Binder & Tabs ...........$150.00 

 
2010 Seminar Selection   (Directions will be mailed.) 
 

A 13th Edition manual is required for the seminars 

 
 Advanced & Ethics........Seminar #_______ ..  $125.00 

 
 Intro to Guidelines.........Seminar #_______ .. $125.00    

 
                                  Total Enclosed:     $ _________ 

ADVANCED 
SENTENCING GUIDELINES TOPICS &                                                                                            
ETHICAL HYPOTHETICALS                                                               SEMINARS 
6 Hours – (9:30 AM to 5:00 PM)                          Approved 6 CLE (1 Ethics) 
 

 Purpose: The advanced seminar is designed for the experienced guidelines user.  It is 
recommended that participants attend the “Introduction to Sentencing Guidelines” seminar 
before taking this seminar or have substantial experience completing Virginia’s sentencing 
guidelines. The ethics portion is designed to address scenarios presented to the Commission 
involving the ethical use of sentencing guidelines.  The seminar is designed for all guideline 
users including judges, attorneys, probation officers and other interested staff. 

 Structure: This seminar is a participatory workshop and requires participants to utilize 
critical thinking skills to evaluate complex sentencing guidelines issues.  The seminar will 
consist of lecture, group discussion and a significant amount of hands-on activities.   
As part of the registration process, participants will be requested to submit a question to    
be answered during the seminar.  

 Topics: Participants will address issues related to primary offense selection, purity level         
of cocaine, defining victim injury, identifying weapons, out-of-state convictions, expunged            
juvenile records, elements of legal restraint, venue changes, guidelines strategies and other 
questions provided by participants.  Leslie Haley, Ethics Counsel with the Virginia State                 
Bar, will lead the discussion and answer questions related to defense counsels’ and                 
prosecutors’ ethical responsibilities in calculating sentencing guidelines.   

 Cost: $125.  Purchase manual separately.     
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

INTRODUCTION                    
TO SENTENCING GUIDELINES           
6 Hours – (9:30 AM to 5:00 PM)                  
Approved 6 CLE 
 

 Purpose: The introduction seminar is 
designed for the attorney or criminal justice 
professional who is new to Virginia’s 
sentencing guidelines.  
  Topics: The seminar will begin with general 
background information and progress to 
detailed information on scoring each of the 
guidelines factors.      

 Cost: $125.                                                   
 
Purchase required manual separately.   
 
 

 AUGUST 19 – RICHMOND (# 417) 
          Henrico Training Center    
          7701 E. Parham Road 
      

      
 

 SEPTEMBER 2 – FAIRFAX   (# 418) 
          Fairfax Government Center  
          12000 Government Center Parkway 
 
 
  

 SEPTEMBER 28 – ABINGDON  (# 420) 
          Southwest VA Higher Ed. Ctr.    
          One Partnership Circle 
 
 
   

 OCTOBER 5 – PORTSMOUTH  (# 422) 
          Department of Social Services    
          1701 High Street 
 
 
 

 DECEMBER 7 – RICHMOND (# 426) 
          Henrico Training Center    
          7701 E. Parham Road 
 
  
 

 DECEMBER 15 – WILLIAMSBURG  (# 427) 
          National Center for State Courts  
          300 Newport Avenue 

SEPTEMBER 3 – FAIRFAX (# 419) 
Fairfax Government Center  
12000 Government Center Parkway 

 9:30 – 5:00 Advanced / Ethics  
 
SEPTEMBER 29 – CHRISTIANSBURG/ 
MONTGOMERY CO. (# 421)  
Christiansburg Library 
125 Sheltman Street 

 9:30 – 5:00 Advanced / Ethics  
 
OCTOBER 6 – PORTSMOUTH (# 423)  
Department of Social Services 
1701 High Street 

 9:30 – 5:00 Advanced / Ethics 
 
OCTOBER 14 – PETERSBURG (# 424)  
Probation and Parole 
26317 W. Washington Street 

 9:30 – 5:00 Advanced / Ethics  
 
OCTOBER 21 – FISHERSVILLE / 
AUGUSTA CO. (# 425) 
Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Ctr. 
292 Woodrow Wilson Ave 

 9:30 – 5:00 Advanced / Ethics  
 

MAIL TO:      
Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission 
100 N. 9th Street – 5th Floor 
Richmond, VA 23219 
Make Checks Payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 
Fees Waived for Commonwealth’s. Atty., Public Defenders, and P&P 

2010
FAX: 804.786.3934  PHONE: 804.225.4398


