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Modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines

◼ The Commission closely monitors the sentencing 

guidelines system and, each year, deliberates upon 

possible modifications to the guidelines. 

◼ Under § 17.1-806 of the Code of Virginia, any 

modifications adopted by the Commission must be 

presented in its annual report, due to the General 

Assembly each December 1. 

◼ Unless otherwise provided by law, the changes 

recommended by the Commission become effective 

on the following July 1.



Proposals for New Guidelines Offenses

◼ Proposals reflect the best fit for the historical data.

◼ Proposals are designed to closely match the 

historical rate of incarceration in prison and jail.

◼ Current guidelines worksheets serve as the base 

for scoring historical cases, but the points 

assigned to those factors may be different for the 

new offense and new factors may be added.



Proposed Recommendation 1:

Add Delivery of Drugs to Prisoner (§ 18.2-

474.1) to the Miscellaneous/Other 

worksheets



Delivery of Drugs to Prisoner

§18.2-474.1

§ 18.2-474.1

Notwithstanding the provisions of § 18.2-474, any person who shall willfully in any 

manner deliver, attempt to deliver, or conspire with another to deliver to any 

prisoner confined under authority of the Commonwealth of Virginia, or of any 

political subdivision thereof, or to any person committed to the Department of 

Juvenile Justice in any juvenile correctional center, any drug which is a controlled 

substance regulated by the Drug Control Act in Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 or marijuana is guilty of a Class 5 felony. Any person who shall willfully in 

any manner so deliver or attempt to deliver or conspire to deliver to any such 

prisoner or confined or committed person, firearms, ammunitions, or explosives of 

any nature is guilty of a Class 3 felony.



Delivery of Drugs to Prisoner

§ 18.2-474.1

Penalty: 1Y – 10Y

Data reflect events in which this offense was the primary 

(or most serious) offense at sentencing.

Disposition Percent
Median 

Sentence

No Incarceration 28.2% N/A

Jail 43.4% 6 Months

Prison 28.4% 13 Months

FY2017 – FY2022 

Number of Sentencing Events = 401

Source:  Supreme Court of Virginia - Circuit Court Management System (CMS)



PROPOSED SPLIT FACTOR –

Offenders convicted of one or 

more prior felony drug offenses 

will receive an additional 1 point if 

the primary offense is delivery of 

drugs to a prisoner.

Those with one or more prior 

felony drug convictions will have 

the correct proportion of offenders 

going to Section B vs. Section C.

Section A -

Proposed

If total is 8 or less, go to Section B. If total is 9 or more, go to Section C.

Offenders convicted of this 

offense will be assigned 

with 2 points for 1 count.



PROPOSED SPLIT 

FACTOR –

Offenders convicted of one 

or more prior felony drug 

offenses will receive an 

additional 2 points if the 

primary offense is delivery 

of drugs to a prisoner.

Section B -

Proposed

Offenders convicted of this 

offense will be assigned 

with 9 points for 1 count.

If total is 10 or more, recommendation is JAIL 1 day to 6 months.



Section C -

Proposed

Offenders convicted of this 

offense will be assigned 

the following for 1 count 

based on their Prior 

Record Classification:

Category I: 36 points

Category II: 18 points

Other: 9 points



Delivery of Drugs to Prisoner

§ 18.2-474.1

Probation/No 

Incarceration

Incarceration up 

to 6 months

Incarceration of  

more than 6 Months

(Range includes 

prison)

Actual Practice 28.2% 43.4% 28.4%

Recommended 

under Proposed  

Guidelines

25.7% 41.9% 32.4%

Proposed guidelines are closely 

aligned with the actual 

incarceration rates.



Delivery of Drugs to Prisoner

§ 18.2-474.1

Offenders Sentenced to 

Incarceration up to 6 Months

Median Sentence (in months)

6.0 6.0

Actual
Practice

Proposed
Guidelines



Delivery of Drugs to Prisoner

§ 18.2-474.1

Offenders Sentenced to 

Incarceration of More than 6 Months

Median Sentence (in months)

13.0 13.0

Actual
Practice

Proposed
Guidelines



Proposed Recommendation 1

Add Delivery of Drugs to Prisoner

§ 18.2-474.1

to the Miscellaneous/Other Guidelines

as proposed



Proposed Recommendation 2:

Add Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, Etc. 

Unlawful Chemical (§ 53.1-203(5))

to the Miscellaneous/Other Guidelines



Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, Etc. Unlawful Chemical

§ 53.1-203(5)

§ 53.1-203.  Felonies by prisoners; penalties.

It shall be unlawful for a prisoner in a state, local or 

community correctional facility or in the custody of 

an employee thereof to:  

5. Procure, sell, secrete or have in his possession 

any chemical compound which he has not 

lawfully received.

This offense is a Class 6 felony (penalty range 1 

year to 5 years) and a Category II offense.

§ 53.1-203 last revised by the 

2014 General Assembly



Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, etc. Unlawful Chemical

§ 53.1-203(5)

Data reflect events in which this offense was the primary 

(or most serious) offense at sentencing.

Disposition Percent
Median 

Sentence

No Incarceration 25.3% N/A

Jail 60.2% 6 Months

Prison 14.5% 1 Year

FY2017 – FY2022 

Number of Sentencing Events = 269

Source:  Supreme Court of Virginia - Circuit Court Management System (CMS)



Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, etc. Unlawful Chemical

§ 53.1-203(5) – Proposed Section A Worksheet

Add Primary Offense K.  Prisoner Possess, Secrete, 

Etc., Unlawful Chemical (1 count) ….................…1 point



Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, etc. Unlawful Chemical

§ 53.1-203(5) – Proposed Section A Worksheet

Add Primary Offense K.  Prisoner Possess, 

Secrete, Etc., Unlawful Chemical



Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, etc. Unlawful Chemical

§ 53.1-203(5) – Proposed Section A Worksheet

Automatic 1 Point – Prisoners are Legally 

Restrained

Score if Primary Offense is K.  Prisoner Possess, Secrete, Etc., Unlawful Chemical:

If Offender Has > 2 Prior Felony Drug Convictions/Adjudications, Score 1 Point



Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, etc. Unlawful Chemical

§ 53.1-203(5) – Proposed Section B Worksheet

Add Primary Offense K.  Prisoner Possess, Secrete, 

Etc., Unlawful Chemical (1 count) …................8 Points



Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, etc. Unlawful Chemical

§ 53.1-203(5) – Proposed Section B Worksheet

Add Primary Offense K.  Prisoner Possess, 

Secrete, Etc., Unlawful Chemical – If Yes, 

Score 1 Point



Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, etc. Unlawful Chemical

§ 53.1-203(5) – Proposed Section B Worksheet

Score if Primary Offense is K.  Prisoner Possess, Secrete, Etc., Unlawful Chemical:

If Offender Has > 1 Prior Felony Drug Conviction/Adjudication, Score 2 Points

Automatic 1 Point – Prisoners are Legally 

Restrained



Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, etc. Unlawful Chemical

§ 53.1-203(5) – Proposed Section C Worksheet

Add Primary Offense K.  Prisoner Possess, Secrete, Etc., 

Unlawful Chemical (1 count) 

If Other………………………………….…........8 Points

If Category II..................................................16 Points

If Category I…………………………………….32 Points



Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, etc. Unlawful Chemical

§ 53.1-203(5) – Proposed Section C Worksheet

Prisoners are Legally Restrained

Score Automatic 1 Point (Instead of 2 Points)



Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, etc. Unlawful Chemical

§ 53.1-203(5) – Actual vs Recommended Dispositions

Probation/No 

Incarceration

Incarceration up 

to 6 months

Incarceration of  

more than 6 Months

(Range includes 

prison)

Actual Practice 25.3% 60.2% 14.5%

Recommended 

under Proposed  

Guidelines

9.0% 75.3% 15.7%

Proposed guidelines are 

aligned with the actual prison 

incarceration rate

However, relatively few Section 

B recommendations for No 

Incarceration



Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, etc. Unlawful Chemical

§ 53.1-203(5) – Median Prison Sentence

Offenders Sentenced to 

Incarceration of More than 6 Months

Median Sentence (in years)

1.0 1.1

Actual
Practice

Proposed
Guidelines



Proposed Recommendation 2

Add Prisoner Possess, Sell, Secrete, Etc. Unlawful Chemical 

§ 53.1-203(5)

to the Miscellaneous/Other Guidelines

as proposed



Proposed Recommendation 3:

Add Distributing, Etc., 10g Methamphetamines 

(20g Mixture) § 18.2-248 (C,4) 

to the Drug Schedule I/II Guidelines



Violation of Distributing, Etc., 10g Methamphetamines (20g Mixture)

§ 18.2-248 (C,4)

§ 18.2-248(C,4)

Any person who manufactures, sells, gives, distributes or possesses with the intent to manufacture, sell, give, or distribute the 
following is guilty of a felony punishable by a fine of not more than $1 million and imprisonment for five years to life, five years of 
which shall be a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment to be served consecutively with any other sentence:

4. 10 grams or more of methamphetamine, its salts, isomers, or salts of its isomers or 20 grams or more of a mixture or substance 
containing a detectable amount of methamphetamine, its salts, isomers, or salts of its isomers.

The mandatory minimum term of imprisonment to be imposed for a violation of this subsection shall not be applicable if the court
finds that:

a. The person does not have a prior conviction for an offense listed in subsection C of § 17.1-805;

b. The person did not use violence or credible threats of violence or possess a firearm or other dangerous weapon in connection 
with the offense or induce another participant in the offense to do so;

c. The offense did not result in death or serious bodily injury to any person;

d. The person was not an organizer, leader, manager, or supervisor of others in the offense, and was not engaged in a continuing
criminal enterprise as defined in subsection I; and

e. Not later than the time of the sentencing hearing, the person has truthfully provided to the Commonwealth all information and
evidence the person has concerning the offense or offenses that were part of the same course of conduct or of a common scheme
or plan, but the fact that the person has no relevant or useful other information to provide or that the Commonwealth already is
aware of the information shall not preclude a determination by the court that the defendant has complied with this requirement.



Violation of Distributing, Etc., 10g Methamphetamines (20g Mixture)

§ 18.2-248 (C,4) 

Data reflect events in which this offense was the primary 

(or most serious) offense at sentencing.

Disposition Percent
Median 

Sentence

No Incarceration 0% NA

Incarceration 

Up to 6 Months
0% NA

Incarceration 

More than 6 Months 100% 5 Years

FY2017 – FY2022 

Number of Sentencing Events = 218

Source:  Supreme Court of Virginia - Circuit Court Management System (CMS)



Section A -

Proposed

If total is 11 or more, go to Section C.

Offenders convicted of this offense 

will be assigned the same points as 

Manufacturing Schedule I/II, 

Methamphetamines.



Offenders convicted of this offense will be 

scored the same as those convicted of E. 

Manufacturing Schedule I/II, 

Methamphetamine

Section C -

Proposed

Adjust factor to score all mandatory 

minimums in the event and not just 

mandatory minimums for weapon offenses.  

There are 121 cases between FY2018-FY2023 

that would be impacted by the change. In a 

third (40) of the cases the Guidelines do not 

reflect the mandatory minimums.  There is a 

37% aggravation rate for these 121 cases -

after the range is adjusted for the mandatory 

minimums. If approved, the midpoint will reflect, 

at least, the sum of the mandatory minimums in 

the event. 

or more

20g mix



Violation of Distributing, Etc., 10g Methamphetamines (20g Mixture)

§ 18.2-248 (C,4) 

Probation/No 

Incarceration

Incarceration up 

to 6 months

Incarceration of  

more than 6 Months

(Range includes 

prison)

Actual Practice 0% 0% 100%

Recommended 

under Proposed  

Guidelines

0% 0% 100%

Proposed guidelines are closely aligned with 

the actual prison incarceration rate



Actual
Practice

Proposed
Guidelines

Violation of Distributing, Etc., 10g Methamphetamines (20g Mixture)

§ 18.2-248 (C,4) 

Offenders Sentenced to Incarceration of 

More than 6 Months

Median Sentence (in years)

5 Years 5 Years



Proposed Recommendation 3

Add Distributing, Etc., 10g Methamphetamines (20g Mixture) or More

§ 18.2-248 (C,4) 

to the Drug Schedule I/II Guidelines

as proposed



Proposed Recommendation 4:

Add Violation of Protective Order 3rd or 

subsequent within 20 years (§ 16.1-

253.2(A)) to the Miscellaneous/Person & 

Property Guidelines



Violation of Protective Order 3rd or subsequent within 20 years

§ 16.1-253.2(A) 

§ 16.1-253.2(A)

Any person convicted of a third or subsequent offense of 

violating a protective order, when the offense is committed 

within 20 years of the first conviction and when either the 

instant or one of the prior offenses was based on an act or 

threat of violence is guilty of a Class 6 felony and the 

punishment shall include a mandatory minimum term of 

confinement of six months. The mandatory minimum terms of 

confinement prescribed for violations of this section shall be 

served consecutively with any other sentence.

This offense is defined under Chapter 11. Juvenile and Domestic 

Relations District Courts. The protective Orders issued under 

this Chapter involve family abuse toward family or any 

household members.  There is a similar violation of protective 

order 3rd or subsequent within 20 years under § 18.2-60.4, 

which involves the protective orders that do not meet the 

definition of family or household members, and such cases are 

handled by General District Court.



Violation of Protective Order 3rd or subsequent within 20 years

§ 16.1-253.2(A) 

Data reflect events in which this offense was the primary 

(or most serious) offense at sentencing.

Disposition Percent
Median 

Sentence

No Incarceration 0% NA

Incarceration 

Up to 6 Months
37.4% 6 Months

Incarceration 

More than 6 Months 62.6% 1 Year

FY2017 – FY2022 

Number of Sentencing Events = 99

Source:  Supreme Court of Virginia - Circuit Court Management System (CMS)



Victim Injury Factor: Follow 

“All other offenses”

Legally Restrained at Time 

of Offense: Follow J: 

Damage/Destroy property 

$1,000 or more.

Section A -

Proposed

If total is 9 or more, go to Section C.

Primary Offense Factor: 

Offenders convicted of this 

offense will be assigned 

with 2 points for 1 count.

Data shows this factor is 

currently scored only if 

any additional offenses 

have mandatory minimum 

terms. It will work out 

better if the question 

wording is modified so 

that not all of the offenders 

convicted under this 

offense as a primary are 

automatically recommend 

for Section C.



New FACTOR –

Only for the offenders convicted of 

this offense has prior 

convictions/adjudications (felony 

or misdemeanor) with the same 

VCC prefix as primary offense.

If total is 10 or more, recommendation is JAIL 1 day to 6 months.

Section B -

Proposed New FACTOR –

Only for the offenders convicted of 

this offense has prior 

convictions/adjudications (felony 

or misdemeanor) with the same 

VCC prefix as primary offense.

Primary Offense Remaining 

Counts: Follow “All other 

offenses.”

Victim Injury: Follow “All 

other offenses”



Offenders convicted of this 

offense will be scored the 

same as those convicted 

of E. Threat by letter, 

communication etc.

Section C -

Proposed

Additional Offenses: Follow 

“All other offenses.”

Victim Injury: Follow “G or 

H: Reckless Care/Cruelty 

Child.”

Prior Felony 

Convictions/Adjudications 

against Person: Follow “All 

other offenses.”

Legally Restrained at Time 

of Offense: Follow “F: Child 

neglect/abuse.”

Type of Additional Offense:

Follow “All other offenses 

(Do Not Score).”



Violation of Protective Order 3rd or subsequent within 20 years

§ 16.1-253.2(A) 

Probation/No 

Incarceration

Incarceration up 

to 6 months

Incarceration of  

more than 6 Months

(Range includes 

prison)

Actual Practice 0% 37.4% 62.6%

Recommended 

under Proposed  

Guidelines

0% 38.4% 61.6%

Proposed guidelines are closely 

aligned with the actual prison 

incarceration rate



Violation of Protective Order 3rd or subsequent within 20 years

§ 16.1-253.2(A) 

Offenders Sentenced to 

Incarceration up to 6 Months

Median Sentence (in months)

6.0 6.0

Actual
Practice

Proposed
Guidelines



Violation of Protective Order 3rd or subsequent within 20 years

§ 16.1-253.2(A) 

Offenders Sentenced to 

Incarceration of More than 6 Months

Median Sentence (in years)

1.0 1.0

Actual
Practice

Proposed
Guidelines



Proposed Recommendation 4

Add Violation of Protective Order 3rd or subsequent within 20 years 

§ 16.1-253.2(A) 

to the Miscellaneous/Person & Property Guidelines

as proposed



Proposed Recommendation 5:

Add Conspire to Commit or Assist in 

Larceny with an Aggregate Value of 

$1,000 or More, § 18.2-23 (B), to the  

Larceny Guidelines



Conspire to commit or assist in larceny with an aggregate value of $1,000 or more

§ 18.2-23 (B)

§ 18.2-248(C,4)

B. If any person shall conspire, confederate or combine with another or others in the Commonwealth to 

commit larceny or counsel, assist, aid or abet another in the performance of a larceny, where the 

aggregate value of the goods or merchandise involved is $1,000 or more, he is guilty of a felony 

punishable by confinement in a state correctional facility for not less than one year nor more than 20 

years. The willful concealment of goods or merchandise of any store or other mercantile establishment, 

while still on the premises thereof, shall be prima facie evidence of an intent to convert and defraud the 

owner thereof out of the value of the goods or merchandise. A violation of this subsection constitutes a 

separate and distinct felony.



Conspire to commit or assist in larceny with an aggregate value of $1,000 or more

§ 18.2-23 (B) 

Data reflect events in which this offense was the primary 

(or most serious) offense at sentencing.
*Updated from September meeting to reflect the VCSC categories.

Disposition Percent*
Median 

Sentence

No Incarceration 23.6% NA

Incarceration 

Up to 6 Months
40.8% 3 Months

Incarceration 

More than 6 Months 35.6% 1 Year

FY2017 – FY2022 

Number of Sentencing Events = 110

Source:  Supreme Court of Virginia - Circuit Court Management System (CMS)



Section A -

Proposed

If total is 15 or more, go to Section C.

Offenders convicted of this offense 

will be assigned the same points as 

Grand Larceny from the Person



Section B -

Proposed

Offenders convicted of this offense 

will be assigned the same points as 

Grand Larceny from the Person

If total is 12 or more, recommendation is JAIL 1 day to 6 months.



Offenders convicted of this offense will 

be assigned the same points as Grand 

Larceny from the Person

Section C -

Proposed



Conspire to commit or assist in larceny with an aggregate value of $1,000 or more

§ 18.2-23 (B) 

Probation/No 

Incarceration

Incarceration up 

to 6 months

Incarceration of  

more than 6 Months

(Range includes 

prison)

Actual Practice* 23.6% 40.8% 35.6%

Recommended 

under Proposed  

Guidelines

26.6% 44.3% 29.1%

Proposed guidelines reflect the best fit with 

the actual prison incarceration rate

* Updated from September meeting to reflect the VCSC categories.



Actual
Practice

Proposed
Guidelines

Conspire to commit or assist in larceny with an aggregate value of $1,000 or more

§ 18.2-23 (B) 

Offenders Sentenced to Incarceration of 

Incarceration up to 6 Months

Median Sentence (in years)

3 Months 3 Months



Actual
Practice

Proposed
Guidelines

Conspire to commit or assist in larceny with an aggregate value of $1,000 or more

§ 18.2-23 (B) 

Offenders Sentenced to Incarceration of 

More Than 6 Months

Median Sentence (in years)

1 Year 1 Year



Proposed Recommendation 5

Add Conspire to commit or assist in larceny with an aggregate value of $1,000 or more

§ 18.2-23 (B) 

to the Larceny Worksheet

as proposed



Proposed Recommendation 6:

Modify the Nonviolent Risk Assessment to 

Exclude Defendants Serving  State-Responsible 

Prison Sentences from Being Recommended for 

Alternatives to Prison



Nonviolent risk Assessment 

§ 17.1-803

§ 17.1-803

4. Prepare guidelines for sentencing courts to use in determining appropriate candidates for alternative sanctions which 

may include, but not be limited to (i) fines and day fines, (ii) boot camp incarceration, (iii) local correctional facility 

incarceration, (iv) diversion center incarceration, (v) detention center incarceration, (vi) home incarceration/electronic 

monitoring, (vii) day or evening reporting, (viii) probation supervision, (ix) intensive probation supervision, and (x) 

performance of community service.

5. Develop an offender risk assessment instrument for use in all felony cases, based on a study of Virginia felons, that will

be predictive of the relative risk that a felon will become a threat to public safety.

6. Apply the risk assessment instrument to offenders convicted of any felony that is not specified in (i) subdivision 1, 2 or 3 

of subsection A of § 17.1-805 or (ii) subsection C of § 17.1-805 under the discretionary sentencing guidelines, and shall 

determine, on the basis of such assessment and with due regard for public safety needs, the feasibility of achieving the 

goal of placing 25 percent of such offenders in one of the alternative sanctions listed in subdivision 4. If the Commission so 

determines that achieving the 25 percent or a higher percentage goal is feasible, it shall incorporate such goal into the 

discretionary sentencing guidelines, to become effective on January 1, 1996. If the Commission so determines that 

achieving the goal is not feasible, the Commission shall report that determination to the General Assembly, the Governor 

and the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia on or before December 1, 1995, and shall make such 

recommendations as it deems appropriate.



Section D -

Proposed

There is a face validity problem when 

the Nonviolent Risk Assessment (NVRA) 

recommends an alternative to prison 

when the defendant is serving a state-

responsible sentence.

As best as can be determined, the original 

and updated NVRA did not include drug, 

larceny and fraud offenses that occurred 

while the defendants were serving prison 

sentences.  



Proposed Recommendation 6

Modify the Nonviolent Risk Assessment 

as proposed



New Guidelines Analysis

Robbery – No Recommendation to Add as 

a Guidelines Offense



Robbery Guidelines

§ 18.2-58

§ 18.2-58

A. For the purposes of this section, "serious bodily injury" means the same as that term is defined in § 18.2-51.4.

B. Any person who commits robbery is guilty of a felony and shall be punished as follows:

1. Any person who commits robbery and causes serious bodily injury to or the death of any other person is guilty of a Class 2 

felony.

2. Any person who commits robbery by using or displaying a firearm, as defined in § 18.2-308.2:2, in a threatening manner is guilty 

of a Class 3 felony.

3. Any person who commits robbery by using physical force not resulting in serious bodily injury or by using or displaying a deadly 

weapon other than a firearm in a threatening manner is guilty of a Class 5 felony.

4. Any person who commits robbery by using threat or intimidation or any other means not involving a deadly weapon is guilty of a 

Class 6 felony.

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-51.4/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-308.2:2/


Robbery Guidelines

§ 18.2-58 

Robbery causes death 2

Robbery causes serious bodily injury 10

Robbery by using/displaying a firearm 125

Robbery by using physical force, no serious bodily injury 66

Robbery by using/displaying other deadly weapon (not 

firearm)
41

Robbery by threat, etc., no deadly weapon 68

FY 2022 – FY 2023

Source:  Supreme Court of Virginia - Circuit Court Management System (CMS)



Robbery Guidelines

§ 18.2-58 

Data reflect events in which robbery was the primary (or most serious) 

offense at sentencing.  Excluded cases include those with a primary 

offense indicating carjacking, attempt, or conspiracy; those with an 

offense date prior to 7/1/16; and those with an effective sentence of 0 

months.

Disposition Percent
Mean

Sentence

Median

Sentence

No Incarceration 5.6% N/A N/A

Jail 1.3% 4.5 6.0

Prison 93.1% 107.8 84.0

FY 2017 – FY 2021

Robbery With Use of Firearm = 691

Source: VCSC – Sentencing Guidelines Data, FY 2017 – FY 2021



Robbery Guidelines

§ 18.2-58 

Data reflect events in which robbery was the primary (or most serious) 

offense at sentencing.  Excluded cases include those with a primary 

offense indicating carjacking, attempt, or conspiracy; those with an 

offense date prior to 7/1/16; and those with an effective sentence of 0 

months.

Disposition Percent
Mean

Sentence

Median

Sentence

No Incarceration* 30.4% N/A N/A

Jail 4.3% 5.2 6.0

Prison 65.2% 43.8 36.0

FY 2022 to Present

Robbery With Use of Firearm = 115

Source:  Supreme Court of Virginia - Circuit Court Management System (CMS)

* Guidelines data from the 

same time-period indicate 

just 1 of 23 cases (4%) has 

a sentence of no 

incarceration; all other 

sentences, greater than 6 

months, have a mean 

sentence of 62.1 months 

and a median of 42 months.



Robbery Guidelines

§ 18.2-58 

• The prior guidelines system saw robbery sentences more than double effective time 

versus the current non-guidelines system.  This suggests a change in sentencing patterns 

for robberies occurring after 7/1/21.

• Completed Case Details regarding weapon, injury, and other details will be key to any 

new guidelines analysis, as we try to match up the prior system with the new system. 

• Of the 125 new cases involving a firearm, 12 could not be analyzed due to an offense 

date that is pre-7/1/21,  or the robbery being an attempt or conspiracy.

• For post-7/1/21, there are 115 cases of robbery by firearm in CMS, but only 77 are in 

SWIFT.  Any analysis will depend on all cases being entered into SWIFT.  CMS data also 

have some concerning discrepancies that may indicate incomplete information.



New Robbery Analysis

Continue to Monitor Robbery Convictions, Resolve Data Issues, and 

Promote the Completion of the Case Details Worksheet Before 

Recommending Restoring Robbery as a Guidelines Offense
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