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Sentencing Commission staff:

 Prepare fiscal impact statements, as required                    
by § 30-19.1:4;

 Monitor legislation that may have an impact on 
penalties, sentencing, time served, and sex 
offender registration, as well as legislation 
proposing criminal justice studies; 

 Observe the judicial interview process;

 Respond to legislators’ requests for supplemental 
information; and 

 Provide technical assistance to other agencies.

Sentencing Commission 
Session-Related Activities
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 The Sentencing Commission must prepare a fiscal impact 
statement for any bill that would result in a net increase in the 
population of offenders housed in state adult correctional 
facilities (prisons).

 The requirement for an impact statement includes, but is not 
limited to, proposals that:

− Add new crimes for which imprisonment is authorized;
− Increase the periods of imprisonment authorized for 

existing crimes;
− Raise the classification of a crime from a misdemeanor 

to a felony;
− Impose mandatory terms of imprisonment; or 
− Modify laws governing release of prisoners. 

Fiscal Impact Statements
§30-19.1:4
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 Law became effective July 1, 2000.

 Effective July 1, 2002, the impact statement must 
also:

− Include an analysis of the impact on local                     
and regional jails as well as state and local 
community corrections programs; and

− Detail any necessary adjustments to the 
sentencing guidelines. 
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Fiscal Impact Statements
§30-19.1:4



 The Sentencing Commission must estimate the increase in 
annual operating costs for prison facilities that would result if 
the proposal is enacted.

− A six-year projection is required.

− The highest single-year population increase is 
identified.

− This is multiplied by the cost of holding a prison inmate 
for a year (operating costs, excluding capital costs). 

• For FY2020, this was $38,688.

− This amount must be printed on the face of the bill and 
a one-year appropriation in that amount must be made.
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Fiscal Impact Statements
§30-19.1:4



If the Sentencing Commission does not have sufficient information to 
project the impact, § 30-19.1:4 specifies that the words "Cannot be 

determined" must be printed on the face of the bill.

Item 49 of 
Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly

(Appropriation Act)

For any fiscal impact statement prepared by the Virginia Criminal 
Sentencing Commission pursuant to § 30-19.1:4, Code of Virginia, for 
which the commission does not have sufficient information to project 
the impact, the commission shall assign a minimum fiscal impact of 
$50,000 to the bill and this amount shall be printed on the face of each 
such bill, but shall not be codified. The provisions of § 30-19.1:4, 
paragraph H. shall be applicable to any such bill.

Fiscal Impact Statements
Additional Provisions
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 Sentencing Commission staff analyze available 
data to determine (or estimate) the number of 
offenders likely to be affected by the legislation 
and the impact on sentences and/or time served 
for those offenders.

 The data are used in a computer simulation 
model to estimate the net increase in the prison 
population likely to result from the proposal 
during the six years following enactment.

 If data do not contain sufficient detail to 
estimate the impact of the proposal, background 
statistics are provided, if possible.
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Calculation of Fiscal Impact



 The Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) 
prepares a fiscal impact estimate for any bill 
that would result in a net increase in the 
juvenile population committed to the state.

 DJJ provides this information to the Sentencing 
Commission and a combined statement is 
submitted to the General Assembly.
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Fiscal Impact Statements
§30-19.1:4
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Multiple analyses may be performed on each bill, 
depending on the number of amended and substitute 
versions that are proposed or adopted.

Number of Impact Analyses by Year

Impact Analyses Completed for 
2010 - 2021 Sessions of the General Assembly
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For the 2021 General Assembly 
(Regular Session and Special 
Session I), Commission staff also 
completed 28 ad hoc analyses 
requested by legislators, the 
Department of Planning & Budget, 
or other state agencies.

Stricter bill limits were established 
for the 2021 General Assembly.

 12 for each Senator 
 7 for each Delegate
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Type of Legislative Change Percent

Expansion or Clarification of Crime 97.2%

New Crime 56.6%

Misdemeanor to Felony 2.1%

Increase Felony Penalty 2.8%

Mandatory Minimum 15.2%

Other 37.9%

Percentages do not add to 100%, since proposed legislation can 
involve multiple types of changes.  Multiple analyses may be 
performed on each bill, depending on the number of amended 
and substitute versions that are proposed or adopted.

145 Impact Analyses Completed

2021 General Assembly 
Types of Legislative Changes



 Firearms/Weapons (36 analyses)

 Murder/Homicide (22 analyses)

 Drugs (17 analyses)

 Expungement (13 analyses)

 Fraud/Larceny/Vandalism (10 analyses)

 DMV/Motor Vehicle/Licenses (7 analyses)

 Threats (6 analyses)

 Animals (5 analyses)

 Robbery (4 analyses)

 Sex Offenders and Offenses (4 analyses)

 Election (4 analyses)

 Other (14 analyses)

Most Common Types of Offenses 
in Proposed Legislation
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 Legislators can request that JLARC review the  
Commission’s fiscal impact statements.

− The number of requests has ranged from                     
0 to 2 per year.

 During the 2021 Session, JLARC was not asked to 
review any of the Commission’s fiscal impact 
statements.
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Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission (JLARC)
Review of Fiscal Impact Statements



Legislation Relating 
to the Sentencing Commission 



Recommendations in the 2020 Annual Report

No legislation was introduced during the 2021 General 
Assembly session pertaining to the recommendations 
contained in the Commission’s 2020 Annual Report.

Pursuant to § 17.1-806, unless otherwise acted upon 
by the General Assembly, any recommendations 
contained in the Commission’s Annual Report 
automatically take effect the following July 1.
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HJ 629 
Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission; appointment of Chairman.
Introduced by: Charniele L. Herring

SUMMARY AS PASSED:
Confirms the appointment by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia of 
the Honorable Edward L. Hogshire as Chairman of the Virginia Criminal Sentencing 
Commission.

HISTORY
01/26/21 House: Referred to Committee for Courts of Justice
02/03/21 House: Reported from Courts of Justice (22-Y 0-N)
02/04/21 House: Agreed to (99-Y 0-N)
02/05/21 Senate: Referred to Committee on the Judiciary
02/05/21 Senate: Continued to 2021 Sp. Sess. 1 in Judiciary (14-Y 0-N)
02/17/21 Senate: Reported from Judiciary (15-Y 0-N)
02/22/21 Senate: Agreed to by Senate (38-Y 0-N)

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=212&typ=bil&val=hj629 15



HB 2110 
Pretrial data collection; VCSC to collect and disseminate on an annual basis.
Introduced by: Charniele L. Herring

SUMMARY AS PASSED:
Requires the VCSC to collect and disseminate statewide and locality-level data related 
to adults charged with criminal offenses punishable by incarceration. The VCSC must 
make data publicly available on its website as (i) an electronic de-identified dataset 
that may be downloaded by the public and (ii) an electronic interactive data dashboard 
tool that displays aggregated data based on characteristics selected by the user. As 
introduced, this bill was a recommendation of the State Crime Commission. 

HISTORY
01/22/21 House: Reported from Courts of Justice with substitute (22-Y 0-N)
01/29/21 House: Reported from Appropriations (22-Y 0-N)
02/03/21 House: Block Vote Passage #2 (99-Y 0-N)
02/05/21 Senate: Continued to 2021 Sp. Sess. 1 in Judiciary (14-Y 0-N)
02/10/21 Senate: Reported from Judiciary (15-Y 0-N)
02/17/21 Senate: Reported from Finance and Appropriations (15-Y 0-N)
02/18/21 Senate: Passed Senate (39-Y 0-N)
03/12/21 Governor: Approved by Governor-Chapter 111 (effective 7/1/21)

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=212&typ=bil&val=hb2110 16

See also
SB 1391 (Lucas)



HB 2110 
Pretrial data collection; VCSC to collect and disseminate on an annual basis.
Introduced by: Charniele L. Herring

AGENCY IMPACT:

The VCSC estimated the agency will need funding and two positions to                    
perform this work on an ongoing basis. Additionally, there is an estimated                                 
one-time cost in the first year for office furniture, computer, monitors and laptops.  

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=212&typ=bil&val=hb2110 17



HB 1990 
Criminal justice legislation; racial and ethnic impact statements.
Introduced by: Lashrecse D. Aird

SUMMARY AS PASSED:
Provides that the Chair of the House Committee for Courts of Justice or the Chair of 
the Senate Judiciary Committee may request JLARC to review and prepare a racial 
and ethnic impact statement for a proposed criminal justice bill to outline its potential 
impact on racial and ethnic disparities. No more than three racial and ethnic impact 
statements may be requested by each Chair during a session. The VCSC shall 
provide data and assistance.

HISTORY
01/22/21 House: Reported from Rules (14-Y 4-N)
01/27/21 House: Reported from Appropriations (16-Y 1-N)
02/01/21 House: Passage (69-Y 31-N)
02/05/21 Senate: Continued to 2021 Sp. Sess. 1 in Rules (15-Y 0-N)
02/19/21 Senate: Reported from Rules with amendment (10-Y 2-N)
02/23/21 Senate: Passed Senate with amendment (20-Y 18-N)
02/24/21 House: Senate amendment agreed to by House (62-Y 36-N)
03/01/21 Governor: Governor's Action Deadline 11:59 p.m., March 31, 2021

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=212&typ=bil&val=hb1990 18



Legislation Relating 
to Sentencing



HB 1936 
Robbery; penalties.
Introduced by: Vivian E. Watts

SUMMARY AS PASSED:
Creates degrees of punishment corresponding to the severity of a robbery offense:
• Robbery resulting in serious bodily injury or death = Class 2 felony;
• Robbery using or displaying firearm in threatening manner  = Class 3 felony; 
• Robbery using physical force not resulting in serious bodily injury or using a   

deadly weapon other than a firearm in a threatening manner = Class 5 felony;
• Robbery using threat/intimidation not involving a deadly weapon = Class 6 felony.

HISTORY
01/22/21 House: Subcommittee recommends reporting with substitute (5-Y 3-N)
01/27/21 House: Reported from Courts of Justice with substitute (13-Y 9-N)
02/01/21 House: Passage (54-Y 45-N)
02/15/21 Senate: Reported from Judiciary with substitute (9-Y 6-N)
02/17/21 Senate: Passed Senate with substitute (20-Y 18-N)
02/19/21 House: Senate substitute agreed to by House (54-Y 45-N)
02/26/21 Governor: Governor's Action Deadline 11:59 p.m., March 31, 2021

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=212&typ=bil&val=hb1936 20

03/18/21 – Preliminary:  Gov. has 
recommended amendment to                     
§ 16.1-269.1(C) that would limit 
the required transfer of juveniles 
to circuit court (upon finding of 
probable cause) to the two most 
serious robbery classes.



HB 1936 
Robbery; penalties.
Introduced by: Vivian E. Watts

VCSC FISCAL IMPACT SUMMARY:

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=212&typ=bil&val=hb1936 21
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HB 1936 
Robbery; penalties.
Introduced by: Vivian E. Watts

VCSC ANALYSIS:

Primary Offense
(HB1936 Category)

Proposed 
Class

Total 
Number 
of Cases

Percent 
Sentenced to 

Probation

Percent 
Sentenced 

to Jail

Median Jail 
Sentence

Percent 
Sentenced 
to Prison

Median 
Prison 

Sentence

Cases Sentenced 
Above Proposed 
Stat. Maximum

Robbery with life 
threatening or serious 
bodily injury 

Class 2 144 2.1% 2.8% 6 mos 95.1% 7.4 yrs N/A 
(max=life sentence)

Robbery with an 
additional offense of 
use of firearm 
(includes attempted 
use of firearm) 

Class 3 243 0.4% 0.4% 11 mos 99.2% 7.5 yrs
9 (3.7%) 

Sentenced to more 
than 20 years

Robbery with use of 
weapon other than a 
firearm 

Class 5 109 8.3% 8.3% 6 mos 83.5% 4.5 yrs
13 (11.9%) 

Sentenced to more 
than 10 years

Robbery not involving 
a deadly weapon Class 6 338 14.5% 8.3% 6 mos 77.2% 4.0 yrs

81 (24.0%) 
Sentenced to more 

than 5 years

Summary 834 7.4% 5.0% 6 mos 87.5% 5.5 yrs 103 (12.4%)

Robbery Sentencing Trends (Excluding Carjacking)



HB 2038 
Limits on probation and sentences for technical violations.
Introduced by: Don L. Scott

SUMMARY AS PASSED:
Limits the amount of active incarceration a court can impose for a technical 
violation of probation supervision, as defined in the bill. 

• 1st technical violation:  No active incarceration;

• 2nd technical violation: Up to 14 days;

• 3rd or subsequent technical violation:  Whatever sentence may have 
been originally imposed.

The bill also provides that a court may fix the period of probation for up to the 
statutory maximum period for which the defendant might originally have been 
sentenced and any period of supervised probation shall not exceed five years 
from the release of the defendant from any active period of incarceration. The 
bill also provides that a court must measure any period of suspension of 
sentence from the date of entry of the original sentencing order.

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=212&typ=bil&val=HB2038 23



HB 2038 
Limits on probation and sentences for technical violations.
Introduced by: Don L. Scott

HISTORY
01/27/21 House: Reported from Courts of Justice with substitute (11-Y 10-N)
01/29/21 House: Substitute by Delegate Scott agreed to
02/01/21 House: VOTE: Passage (57-Y 43-N)
02/05/21 Senate: Continued to 2021 Sp. Sess. 1 in Judiciary (14-Y 0-N)
02/17/21 Senate: Reported from Judiciary with substitute (9-Y 6-N)
02/22/21 Senate: Passed Senate with substitute (23-Y 16-N)
02/23/21 House: Senate substitute agreed to by House (57-Y 39-N)
03/01/21 Governor: Governor's Action Deadline 11:59 p.m., March 31, 2021

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=212&typ=bil&val=HB2038 24



HB 2038 
Limits on probation and sentences for technical violations.
Introduced by: Don L. Scott

VCSC ANALYSIS:

 According to FY2019-FY2020 Sentencing Guidelines data:

− Among 48,318 felony offenders, 1,426 (3.0%) were sentenced to a 
probation term of more than five years. 

 The median probation sentence was 18.0 months and                              
the mean was 20.9 months.

 According to FY2019-FY2020 Sentencing Revocation Report (SRR) data:

− Among 14,427 felony offenders with probation/suspended sentence 
revoked for a technical violation, 10,606 offenders (73.5%) received a 
sentence of more than 14 days. 

 The median sentence among technical violators was 4.0 months 
and the mean was 7.9 months. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=212&typ=bil&val=HB2038 25



SB 1443 
Mandatory minimum sentences; elimination.
Introduced by: John S. Edwards

SUMMARY AS PASSED SENATE:
Eliminates nearly all mandatory minimum sentences from the Code. The bill directs the 
Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security to establish a work group to 
evaluate the feasibility of resentencing persons previously convicted of felony offenses 
requiring mandatory minimum terms (report on findings due Nov. 1, 2021). As 
introduced, this bill was a recommendation of the Virginia State Crime Commission.

HISTORY
01/25/21 Senate: Reported from Judiciary with substitute (9-Y 6-N)
02/02/21 Senate: Reported from Finance and Appropriations (11-Y 5-N)
02/05/21 Senate: Passed Senate with substitute (21-Y 17-N)
02/08/21 House: Continued to Special Session 1 in Courts of Justice by voice vote
02/17/21 House: Reported from Courts of Justice with substitute (14-Y 8-N)
02/22/21 House: Reported from Appropriations with substitute (12-Y 8-N)
02/24/21 House: Passed House with substitute (56-Y 43-N)
02/25/21 Senate: House substitute rejected by Senate (0-Y 39-N)
02/25/21 House: House requested conference committee
03/01/21 Senate: No further action taken (Failed to pass)

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=212&typ=bil&val=SB1443 26



HB 2331 
Mandatory minimum sentences; elimination.
Introduced by: Michael P. Mullin

SUMMARY AS PASSED HOUSE:
Eliminates mandatory minimum sentences for certain drug/nonviolent crimes. The bill 
also provides a petition process for persons serving mandatory minimum terms for 
specified felonies to petition the circuit court to (i) suspend the unserved portion of such 
mandatory minimum sentence, (ii) place such person on probation for such time as the 
court shall determine, or (iii) otherwise modify the sentence imposed. The bill provides 
that such petition shall be filed by July 1, 2024.

HISTORY
01/29/21 House: Reported from Courts of Justice with amendment(s) (13-Y 7-N)
02/03/21 House: Reported from Appropriations (14-Y 8-N)
02/05/21 House: Passage (58-Y 42-N)
02/05/21 Senate: Continued to 2021 Sp. Sess. 1 in Judiciary (14-Y 0-N)
02/17/21 Senate: Reported from Judiciary with substitute (10-Y 5-N)
02/22/21 Senate: Reported from Finance & Appropriations w/substitute (10-Y 3-N 1-A)
02/25/21 Senate: Passed with substitute with amendment (21-Y 18-N)
02/25/21 House: Senate substitute with amendment rejected by House (0-Y 99-N)
02/25/21 Senate: Senate requested conference committee
03/01/21 House: No further action taken (Failed to pass)

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=212&typ=bil&val=hb2331 27



SB 1443 / HB2331 
Mandatory minimum sentences; elimination.
Introduced by: John S. Edwards / Michael P. Mullin

VCSC ANALYSIS:

 As of July 1, 2020, there were 224 distinct offenses in 34 Code sections that 
required a mandatory minimum sentence:

− 162 felony offenses and 62 misdemeanor offenses.

 Mandatory minimum offenses comprise a small proportion of the total charges                        
and convictions in Virginia courts.1
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SB 1443 / HB2331 
Mandatory minimum sentences; elimination.
Introduced by: John S. Edwards / Michael P. Mullin

VCSC ANALYSIS:

29

1 or More 
Mandatory 
Minimums

11.5%

No 
Mandatory 
Minimum

88.5%

Felony Sentencing Events 
FY2016-FY2020

Note:  Mandatory minimum offenses could be a felony or a misdemeanor.
Source:  Sentencing Guidelines Data System, FY2016-FY2020

Of felony sentencing events            
with at least one mandatory 
minimum offense, 33.7% had             
the sentencing guidelines 
recommended range adjusted.

 i.e., some part of the 
guidelines range was           
lower than the required 
mandatory minimum and 
was therefore replaced with 
the mandatory minimum.



Legislation Relating 
to Parole or Time Served



https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212+sum+HB1806 31

HB 1806 
Suspension or modification of sentence; transfer to the Dept. of Corrections.
Introduced by: Terry G. Kilgore

SUMMARY AS PASSED:
Provides that if a motion to suspend or otherwise modify a person's sentence is filed 
with the court that heard the case at any time before the person is transferred to the 
Department of Corrections, the court may enter an order to retain jurisdiction over the 
matter for up to 60 days in order to consider and rule on such motion. If the court 
enters such order, the transfer of the person to the Department shall not affect the 
jurisdiction of the court under the terms of the order. 

HISTORY
01/20/21 House: Reported from Courts of Justice (22-Y 0-N)
01/25/21 House: VOTE: Block Vote Passage (100-Y 0-N)
02/05/21 Senate: Continued to 2021 Sp. Sess. 1 in Judiciary (14-Y 0-N)
02/15/21 Senate: Reported from Judiciary with amendments (15-Y 0-N)
02/17/21 Senate: Passed Senate with amendments (39-Y 0-N)
02/19/21 House: Senate amendments agreed to by House (100-Y 0-N)
02/26/21 Governor: Governor's Action Deadline 11:59 p.m., March 31, 2021



https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212+sum+HB2010 32

HB 2010 
Earned sentence credits; rate at which sentence rates may be earned, 
prerequisites.
Introduced by: Jeffrey L. Campbell

SUMMARY AS PASSED:
Contains a technical amendment. The rate at which sentence credits may be earned is 
capped at a maximum of 4.5 sentence credits for every 30 days served on a sentence 
for a conviction for any of the specified offenses, including a suspended sentence that is 
later revoked.  For all other offenses, the felon may earn up to 15 days for every 30 days 
served. Effective July 1, 2022.

HISTORY
01/29/21 House: Reported from Courts of Justice with amendment(s) (22-Y 0-N)
02/03/21 House: VOTE: Block Vote Passage #2 (99-Y 0-N)
02/05/21 Senate: Continued to 2021 Sp. Sess. 1 in Rehab. & Social Services (14-Y 0-N)
02/12/21 Senate: Reported from Rehabilitation and Social Services (15-Y 0-N)
02/16/21 Senate: Passed Senate (39-Y 0-N)
02/24/21 Governor: Governor's Action Deadline 11:59 p.m., March 31, 2021



 Class 1 felony;

 1st or 2nd degree murder, felony murder, solicitation to commit 
murder, lynching;

 Certain acts of terrorism or treason;

 Felony kidnapping;

 Malicious wounding or felony assault of family/household member;

 Robbery or carjacking;

 Felony sexual assault (Article 7 of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2);

 Burglary with intent to murder, rape or rob (§ 18.2-90);

 Felony stalking (§ 18.2-60.3);

 Felony violation of protective order (§§ 16.1-253.2, 18.2-60.4);

 Felony prostitution, sex trafficking (Article 3 of Chapter 8 of                                            
Title 18.2);

 Use of machine gun or sawed-off shotgun in crime;

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?202+sum+HB5148 33

HB 5148 (Passed by 2020 General Assembly Special Session I)
Department of Corrections; awarding of earned sentence credits.

As PASSED, HB 5148 specified that inmates convicted of the following offenses 
would be limited to 4.5 days of sentence credit for every 30 days served:

 Indecent liberties, certain felony crimes against children (Article 4      
of Chapter 8 of Title 18.2 (except for § 18.2-362 or 18.2-371.1);  

 Child pornography offenses (except 1st offense possession) or 
online solicitation of minors (Article 5 of Chapter 8 of Title 18.2);

 Permit minor to perform in sexually explicit material (§ 40.1-100.2), 
cruelty and injuries to children (§ 40.1-103);

 Torture of animals;

 Trespass on school property – intent to abduct child;

 Escape from custody as a sexually violent predator;

 Second of subsequent convictions (in any combination) for:  

Voluntary manslaughter, mob-related felonies, unlawful wounding,             
aiding terrorism, burglary (§§ 18.2-89, 18.2-92), certain arsons, 
animal fighting, 1st offense possession of child pornography,                    
felony failure to pay wages; or burn cross, or display noose/ 
swastika to intimidate, paramilitary activities, food adulteration.



https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?202+sum+HB5148 34

As PASSED, HB 5148 specifies the following earned 
sentence credits for eligible inmates:

o Level 1 = 15 days per 30 days served
o Level 2 = 7.5 per 30 days served
o Level 3 = 3.5 per 30 days served
o Level 4 = 0 days for 30 days served

HB 5148 (Passed by 2020 General Assembly Special Session I)
Department of Corrections; awarding of earned sentence credits.



https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=211&typ=bil&val=sb1370 35

Letter to Crime 
Commission 
requesting study

SB 1370 
Parole statutes; application to persons committed upon certain felony offenses.
Introduced by: John S. Edwards

SUMMARY AS INTRODUCED:
Repeals the abolition of parole. The bill requires the Virginia Parole Board to                       
establish procedures for consideration of parole for persons who were previously 
ineligible for parole because parole was abolished and to allow for an extension                           
of time for the scheduling of a parole interview for reasonable cause.

HISTORY
01/13/21 Senate: Referred to Committee on Rehabilitation & Social Services
01/29/21 Senate: Passed by indefinitely in Rehabilitation & Social Services (14-Y 0-N)



Legislation Relating 
to Punishment for Specific Offenses



https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212+sum+SB1165 37

SB 1165 
Death penalty; abolition of current penalty.
Introduced by: Scott A. Surovell

SUMMARY AS PASSED:
Abolishes the death penalty, including for those persons currently under a death 
sentence. 

HISTORY
01/18/21 Senate: Reported from Judiciary with substitute (10-Y 4-N)
01/26/21 Senate: Reported from Finance and Appropriations (12-Y 4-N)
02/03/21 Senate: Passed Senate with substitute (21-Y 17-N)
02/08/21 House: Continued to Special Session 1 in Courts of Justice by voice vote
02/17/21 House: Reported from Courts of Justice (15-Y 7-N)
02/22/21 House: Passage (57-Y 43-N)
02/26/21 Governor: Governor's Action Deadline 11:59 p.m., March 31, 2021

See also
HB 2263 (Mullin)
HB 1779 (Carter)



https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212+sum+SB1165 38

SB 1165 
Death penalty; abolition of current penalty.
Introduced by: Scott A. Surovell

VCSC ANALYSIS:
According to the Department of Corrections (DOC), there were 2 Virginia inmates 
serving under a death sentence as of December 1, 2020.  No new offenders have 
entered death row since October 2011. As of December 10, 2020, no execution dates 
have been set for current death row inmates.

DOC data indicate that inmates remain on death row for an average of 7.1 years prior 
to execution (based on the last 20 inmates executed). 

 Individuals currently on death row have served between 13.3 and 15.7 years. 

According to Circuit Court Case Management System (CMS) data for FY2015-FY2020, 
34 offenders were convicted of a completed act of capital murder under § 18.2-31.  

 Of these, 32 were given a sentence of life in prison.  
 For the remaining two offenders, the court suspended the life sentence                            

and ordered prison terms of 36 and 38 years, respectively.

See also
HB 2263 (Mullin)
HB 1779 (Carter)
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HB 2290 
Larceny; repeals punishment for conviction of 2nd or subsequent misdemeanor.
Introduced by: Kenneth R. Plum

SUMMARY AS PASSED:
Repeals the enhanced penalties for a second or subsequent misdemeanor larceny 
conviction. Under current law, when a person is convicted of a second larceny offense, 
he shall be confined in jail not less than 30 days nor more than 12 months, and for a 
third, or any subsequent offense, he shall be guilty of a Class 6 felony.

HISTORY
01/27/21 House: Reported from Courts of Justice (13-Y 9-N)
02/01/21 House: Passage (52-Y 45-N)
02/05/21 Senate: Continued to 2021 Sp. Sess. 1 in Judiciary (14-Y 0-N)
02/10/21 Senate: Reported from Judiciary (9-Y 6-N)
02/15/21 Senate: Passed Senate (21-Y 18-N)
02/24/21 Governor: Governor's Action Deadline 11:59 p.m., March 31, 2021
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HB 2290 
Larceny; repeals punishment for conviction of 2nd or subsequent misdemeanor.
Introduced by: Kenneth R. Plum

VCSC ANALYSIS:

Offense

As Primary 
(Most Serious) 

Offense

As 
Additional 

Offense

Petit larceny, etc. – 3rd or 
subsequent conviction 
(Class 6 Felony)

2,770 867

Petit larceny, etc. –
2nd conviction 
(Misd:  30 days-12 mos.)

2,008 141

Offense

As Primary 
(Most Serious) 

Offense

Percent 
Sentenced 

to Probation

Percent 
Sentenced 

to Jail

Median 
Jail 

Sentence

Percent 
Sentenced 

to Prison

Median 
Prison 

Sentence

Petit larceny, etc. – 3rd or 
subsequent conviction 
(Class 6 Felony)

2,770     18.3% 57% 3.0 mos. 24.7% 1.5 yr.

Petit larceny, etc. –
2nd conviction 
(Misd:  30 days-12 mos.)

2,008 40.1% 59.9% 1.0 mos. NA NA

Felony Sentencing Events involving 
Petit Larceny 2nd or 3rd/subs (§ 18.2-104) 

FY2019-FY2020
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SB 1306 
Assault and battery; penalty.
Introduced by: Joseph D. Morrissey

SUMMARY AS PASSED SENATE:
• Eliminates the mandatory minimum term of confinement of 6 months for an assault 

and battery committed against a law-enforcement officer, etc.;
• Specifies that the felony punishment for assault and battery of a law enforcement 

officer, etc., applies only when it results in bodily injury; and 
• Provides that a jury or the court may find any person charged with such offense (i) 

whose physical or mental capacity is diminished or (ii) who has been diagnosed with 
an autism spectrum disorder, a developmental disability, or an intellectual disability,  
guilty of misdemeanor simple assault or assault and battery.

HISTORY
02/01/21 Senate: Reported from Judiciary with substitute (9-Y 5-N)
02/03/21 Senate: Amendments #1 and #2 by Senator Edwards agreed to
02/04/21 Senate: Read third time and passed Senate (21-Y 18-N)
02/08/21 House: Continued to Special Session 1 in Courts of Justice by voice vote
03/01/21 House: Left in Courts of Justice
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